No Facebook. No problem….?

I deactivated my Facebook for 2 1/2 days. This was the result.

11/01/2011 – 0100

I decided to deactivate my Facebook account for awhile. I spend too much time on there keeping up with people’s lives and looking at pictures and posting things. It’s a nice way to stay updated, but I think I’ll survive a few days without knowing what everyone is up to. Also, I’m always checking it from my phone whenever I’m anywhere so this will help me focus more on what I’m actually doing instead of checking Facebook.

In exchange for Facebook silence, I’m chronicling my events outside of the site on my blog… which I will then post a link to on Facebook when I decide to return. I haven’t made a timeline for how long I’ll stay off of Facebook. I’m thinking 2 days at the least.

So I posted a message tonight so that those who notice won’t think I’ve snapped and unfriended them after I disappear (so… no one. HAHA) Then in the morning I’ll deactivate my account and do something productive. I’m not too worried… the people I regularly communicate with have my cell number so it’s not like I’m totally isolated.

I do need to do a serious room cleaning and organizing so this will help with that. And I would like to read a book cover to cover like I used to. Maybe I’ll go outside and look around. Anyway, that’s all for today. I’ll return tomorrow. Hopefully I won’t have fallen off of the wagon yet.

 

11/1/2011 – 1150

Okay, maybe this experiment isn’t going great so far. I’m recovering from a migraine so I’m lazing around. Since I’m not allowed on Facebook, I’m internet shopping. This plan may have backfired. However, I downloaded all of my Facebook information in case something happened and it didn’t all come back or whatever. So I’m about to go through all of that. It should be fun.

Room is still a mess. No book has been read.

Later

Okay, reading my old statuses on my downloaded Facebook thing is equal parts amusing and horrifying. Here’s a post from September 13, 2008: “Katie Graber is in Seattle and ready to do some serious damage to her financial stability (What stability?) today. Yay shopping!” Clearly some things never change as that is what I did this last weekend.

So far, many of my updates talk about football, Dexter, online shopping, and Muse. At least I’m consistent.

December 28, 2008: “Katie Graber thinks Uggs make you look like you killed a camel and are wearing its feet.” HAHAHA I agree with 20 year old me!

Okay, this is definitely backfiring because now I’m spending too much time going through all of this old stuff instead of being productive. Oh well, it’s only day one.

Later

Okay, reading more updates from years ago. I thought my shopping was bad now… I was AWFUL then! I’ve definitely improved! Yay! Oh, and that time I gave up soda. HAHA. Good one. And then that time I decided to move to New York because there are no Wal-Marts there (still sounds like a golden idea).

March 12, 2009: “Katie Graber wants to know who rotates their tires… Seriously… They rotate when you’re driving… Good enough for me.” I’ve learned nothing from that one because I still don’t rotate my tires.

11/1/2001 – 2250

First text message asking if I’ve unfriended them, from Marybeth, who being my best friend, I obviously did not unfriend. Hahahaha. So someone DID notice. Now I feel loved. Or maybe it’s just that everyone’s newsfeeds were empty because I wasn’t posting…

11/02/2011

Worked all day so the only time I really missed Facebook was when I wanted to complain about annoying patients… which was often. I may be PMSy… see, this is the kind of TMI you’re missing out on while I’m not on Facebook. Then when I got home from work I missed it a little. Still, it’s nice to not constantly be wondering what other people are doing or if someone commented on something. I just watched television in peace. HAHA. I promise I’ll be productive tomorrow.

11/03/2011

Very productive today! Getting room cleaned, lights up in my room for Christmas (IT’S NEVER TOO EARLY!), taking clothes to Goodwill, and recycling old laptops. I think when I’m done with all of that I’ll reactivate my Facebook. I don’t even know what else I could accomplish at this point. Hahaha

Except I didn’t read that book… I did read a magazine though.

About Katie

I love football, fashion, burritos, music, Star Wars, and shopping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

