Someone get the Fire Extinguisher

It’s no secret that I LOVE to eat. I adore food. It is what I think about most of the time. I live for the days that I eat out. Restaurants are my favorite places. I love trying new things (until I find my favorite dish and then I stick with that, usually).

It’s also no secret that I have zero skills in the kitchen. I messed up easy mac. EASY mac. “Easy” is in the name and I ruined it (which, if you think about it, takes a special kind of skill, so I’m actually kind of awesome). So, when I’m home, unless someone else cooks, I don’t tend to eat tasty things. Let’s just say the microwave is my friend.

This leads to me sitting around, thinking about delicious food and then microwaving a frozen pizza. Well, now I’m going to do something about it. Lately, I’ve been addicted to a lovely site called Pinterest (thanks a lot, Amy! haha). While it is full of many things, I’ve been very attracted to the delicious recipes I see. At first I’d see some that looked good and try to figure out what restaurant would serve them. However, after I couldn’t think of any place in Bend that serves avocado fries (that I know of) I decided I’m going to take matters into my own hands.

That’s right. I’m going to learn how to cook. Mom has already volunteered to help me. Clearly, she is crazy. So I start next week… and I start with avocado fries. I’m sure there will be many mishaps and entertaining stories. I’ll document them here unless it’s boring. I’ll share the recipes too because I want everyone to love food as much as me! Most of the recipes are healthy too (minus the deep frying avocados part). Who knows, maybe one day I’ll be good enough to conquer easy mac.

So as I said, avocado fries are first up. Also I’m going to make homemade ranch dressing. My cousin, Shelly, already used the recipe I’m going to use and said it’s delicious. I put ranch dressing on EVERYTHING so I’m very excited. If the avocado fries go well (which I don’t know… I’m starting with a hard one) then I’ll jump to baked zucchini sticks with a sweet onion dip. There are also garlic mashed potato cakes that I want to try and a cheesy potato and bacon casserole. What is exciting to me about this is I love things like avocado and zucchini but I rarely eat them at home because I don’t know how to transform them into something amazing.

The purpose of this is not to cut down on my eating out (okay, maybe a little). I love it too much to give it up. But this will allow me to eat delicious food ALL of the time… unless I suck. Then I guess microwaveable pizzas aren’t that bad… ugh.

So anyway, I’ll post about it here because it’ll keep me motivated. And let’s face it, me in the kitchen… it’s going to lead to something horrific. Severed fingers? Kitchen fires? Accidentally deep frying something in its wrapper? Should be fun.

Katie

Avocado fries. Om nom nom.

About Katie

I love football, fashion, burritos, music, Star Wars, and shopping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Someone get the Fire Extinguisher

  1. I’m interested to see how you do, haha! I have faith in you!… no really, I do! Plus your mom is gonna help (it’s her I have the faith in but don’t tell you that =P) Tell me how those avocado fries are, they’ve been making me hungry just looking at them on pinterest lately

Leave a Reply

