Party of Two, Table for One

Sometimes I feel like there are two versions of me living in one body.

Version 1 wants to live in a cute apartment downtown in a big city. She wants to work a lot in a fulfilling job that challenges and rewards her. She wants to go out to fancy restaurants and trendy bars. She wants to go to the spa and get manicures. She wants to travel and do a lot of shopping.

Version 2 wants to live in a cute house in the country (but still within 30 minutes of a Fred Meyer and Costco) with lots of animals. She wants to work (because I go crazy when I’m not working and I end up thinking about and writing things like this) but not endless hours of work. She wants to go to cute little diners and cozy pubs. She wants to sew cute clothes and paint. She still would like to do a lot of shopping.

Version 1 is currently winning as I am going to school to do a job that will require me to work a lot and let me afford things like fancy restaurants and spa visits while also making me feel good about what I do. Besides, I don’t know how to sew and I’m not the best at painting so version 2 would be a little frustrated. But maybe later on in life, version 2 will have her moment to enjoy life and give version 1 a break.

But if there’s one thing all of me can agree on, it’s the shopping. Shopping brings us together.

This post brought to you by procrastination

Katie

(())(())
( O  O )
(“)__(“)

About Katie

I love football, fashion, burritos, music, Star Wars, and shopping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Party of Two, Table for One

  1. Sarah Esterman says:

    I wouldn’t worry about it too much. I think most people have similar feelings. I know I do. Currently, I am doing the city thing (well, urban environment, Portland isn’t huge) and working a lot—though I can’t say I make a ton of money. My vote: Do version 1 until it’s not fun anymore.

    • Katie Graber says:

      That’s the plan! I think once I get there I’ll enjoy it for quite awhile. It’s just the period leading up to it when you keep wondering if you’re doing the right thing. I know I am but I still have the occasional doubt. Eh, such is life.

Leave a Reply

