The future is a dark place… oh, that’s because I’m buried in textbooks.

When I was in high school, I thought for sure I wanted to be a nurse. My mom, stepdad, and two aunts are nurses. In the back of my mind, I always thought maybe I’d like to be a doctor but the idea of going to school for 30 years was really unappealing. So immediately after high school, I went to a university for nursing school. I had more fun hanging out at the mall then actually trying in school. So then I came back home and took a short-lived detour in business school. BORING.

Then I went back to nursing. I got a job in the ICU as the secretary and watched the world of nurses. I finished all of my pre-requisites to apply to the program and scored pretty high on my entrance exam. And then I took a job in the operating room where I lived in the world of doctors. And I knew that’s what I really wanted to do. So, about two weeks before nursing applications were due, I decided not to apply. Instead I applied to Oregon State where I will be going to get a bachelor’s in Microbiology with a focus in pre-med starting in January.

It’s funny when I tell people about my change of plans. There are two very different reactions. I get people that say things like “Oh, you’re so smart. You’re going to make such a great doctor!” I’m not so sure about that one. I don’t feel like a really smart person. I’m going to have to work really hard in the math and chemistry portions. And then I get the people that say “That’s going to be a lot of work. Did you know that? It’s a long time in school.” Or various ways of saying that. I feel like saying “Really? I thought it was an easy two year degree! Oh well, I guess I’ll just be an exotic dancer!”

I’m going to be in school for a long time. It’s going to be a lot of work. But I think the entire journey is going to be exciting and rewarding. It’s going to take a lot out of me and I’m not going to have much free time. But I do better in situations like that. I never had to work hard at school here which means I didn’t really work much at all. It bored me so I didn’t see the point of doing it. Now I’ll be challenged and I’m going to have to put effort into it. That’s where I do my best work.

Plus, I bought a lap desk with a cupholder and how could anyone fail with one of those?? All I need is that futon bunk bed and I’m all set. I’m very excited about my IKEA shopping trip to furnish my Corvallis house. According to my cousin, Amy, it’s going to be an all day adventure. Then one day, when I’m a doctor, I can afford real furniture!

I had an actual conversation about a patient with a neurosurgeon last week and I didn’t have to say “I don’t know” once. They should just give me my medical license now. You would trust me to operate on you. Right? RIGHT???

Now let’s do some fall shopping (because that’s the best season to shop for!) at Victoria’s Secret who actually has some cute clothes when you wade through the skankier outfits.

For $98 you can look, well, awesome.

I'm loving the long vest. This one is only $68.

Love the buckles on this sweater $58

And because it’s the love of my life, we’ll take a quick trip to Banana Republic and see what they have. TRENCH COAT! They have amazing trench coats.

It's a little pricier at $198 but you can wear it forever! Obviously you'll also need the hat.

And because gas in my digital automobile is so cheap, we’ll make one final stop at Anthropologie.

Of course I get one click into the page and already find an outfit I'm in love with. This is what fall should look like!

Love everything about this. The shape, the ruffles, the black piping. It also comes in Ivory, Purple, and Gray for $128.

This one deserves a bigger look! Love the detail. $148

Okay, I’m having too much fun internet window shopping. I’ll stop for now. If you want an amazing internet window shopping experience then head over to Marchesa and check out their Spring 2010 collection. I’m not lying when I say it’s an experience. The website has two amazing songs to accompany their gorgeous looks. You’ll recognize most of the dresses as the majority have already been worn on various red carpets. And you’ll get to see real art like this:

Le sigh.

-Katie

About Katie

I love football, fashion, burritos, music, Star Wars, and shopping.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Healthcare, Pictures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The future is a dark place… oh, that’s because I’m buried in textbooks.

  1. Haley says:

    Since I haven’t seen you FOREVER it was nice to get a recap on your life, haha.

Leave a Reply

